Skip to sub navigation Skip to main content

Change of electoral ward names effective from 1 December 2020

We recently carried out a consultation, from 18 August 2020 to 15 September 2020, to consider the proposals to change the ward names of 4 areas.

Following the consultation, an Extraordinary Council Meeting was held on 1 October 2020 where a resolution was passed by a majority of at least two thirds of our members.

Ward names changes from 1 December 2020

Current ward name New ward name
Central & New Cross Sutton Central & New Cross
Jacksdale Westwood & Jacksdale
Summit Greenwood & Summit
St Mary's Sutton St Mary's

These ward name changes become effective from 1 December 2020 when the new Electoral Register is published.

An order has been issued to official bodies such as the Electoral Commission (EC) and the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, and others named in the legislation.

Section 59 of Local Government and Public Involvement Act 2007 allows a local authority to change the name of an electoral area by resolution passed at a specially convened meeting for that purpose.

The resolution must be passed by a majority of at least two thirds of the members voting on it. The local authority must not pass the resolution unless it has taken reasonable steps to consult.